Under the Pale Winter Sky

Sitting by a window in a shelter of an unnamed winter evening,

I solicit words.

But they are slow in coming.

Writing, like love, cannot survive neglect.

Absence maybe.

But not neglect,

Deliberate act of abandonment.

Lovers who hide from love in pain or fear, soon

See it perish.

As do writers who hide from words.

Shrivel and wilt, scorched by salts of sorrow.

 

And so I think I should sit here,

Until I have enough

Words to describe

Slow hum of town living below my balcony,

Brilliant colours of geranium’s flowers spilling from terracotta pots nestled against the rusty balustrade,

Smell of sea mist dissolving over dove coloured hills,

Shapes of travelling clouds touched on the edges by a rose brush,

Sound black and white can makes when passing softly under a naked tree,

Taste of loneliness.

 

I might be waiting for a long time,

A day, or

A lifetime.

 

WP_20160815_005.jpg 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

15 thoughts on “Under the Pale Winter Sky”

  1. “And so I think I should sit here/until I have enough words to describe…” I loved this. Other than the fact that geraniums remind me of my grandmother and thus make me beam, I know how often I’ve wanted to be able to pause in stillness and really capture what is around me. A lovely sentiment–elusive as it can be!

    Paige

    Like

    1. Dear Paige,
      Thank you very much for reading and commenting … I am very glad geraniums reminded you of your grandmother and made you beam! Moments of stillness are beautiful as they are precious in the noisy world we inhabit. Take Care.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BEAUTIFUL! WOW!
    To be able to write words that ‘speak’ to the person reading them, is surely an amazing gift. Will follow you on FaceBook.

    Like

  3. Daniela, you will never abandon words. They flow from your soul, and won’t be quenched until you walk this earth no longer, which will be a sad, sad day. Even then, your words will remain, a footprint in time reminding others of the life that once looked over a balcony at a beautiful city below.

    I started a new blog and transferred all my blogging friend to that blog. Something happened in the process and several of you have refollowed my old blog. I decided after changing to keep my old blog. I love it, and it is me, all of me in my disjointed, disconnected endeavors. Thanks for refollowing. As always, I’m a fan of yours.

    Like

    1. My dear Marsha,

      It is always so lovely to ‘see’ you under the Lantern – thank you so much for visiting, reading and commenting in this wonderfully kind and warm way of yours!

      I will look for your new blog too … and I very much agree with you regarding the ‘old’ one – all our footprints are both ours and of us -:)!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I made so many, many good friends on this blog. It is different with WordPress.org. The new connections all come through WordPress.com still. I haven’t taken the time to worry about it. I enjoy people as we connect. One reason I don’t transfer them over is that several of my longtime friends, like you, have become new friends again. So I’m assuming that you no longer got any notifications of my blog posts. But too much technicality. It’s just lovely to be in contact with you again.

        Liked by 1 person

Has it sparked something in you?

