Before the Rains

End of summer holidays.

Image: Courtesy of Flicker

Every year at the end of January and before the rains end summer,

I try hard to cheer myself out of my holiday and into another year of paid employment.

Carefully, I go over all the benefits of having place of work and honestly admit that there are many.

I dare not to think of Charles Bukowski or even Tin Ujevic or any of the bohemian fraternity.

In this endeavour I mostly succeed as all the years gone by confirm.

Then I sit on the balcony and look across the roof tops,

Heavy, low clouds hang over the hill tops.

Cruise ship glides across the water away from the harbour.

Alone seagull screeches into the still, hot air, heralding his

Freedom.

To come and go

Unaccounted.

And I stayed there for a long time,

Until dusk brings cold breeze of night.

Then I must go inside and start preparing for

Morning’s work.

If only I can remember

Why.

 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

12 thoughts on “Before the Rains”

  1. Great photo Daniela ! Looks like storm is coming !
    Work is designed to ruin leisure and sleep activities, unless, of course, your work is primarily those things🙄😀❤

    Like

    1. Thank you very much my dear Ralph! Storm has indeed arrived and raining is competing with wind while I am writing these lines.
      It is official now – you and I understand what word ‘work’ really stands for!
      Take Care over there in those Spanish mountains!
      Daniela

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We are looking forward to storms here as we move into spring. We’ve been dry for 5 years, and our creek has a tiny bit of water in it today. I hope your storms bring what you need to live.🙂

    Like

  3. Oh Daniela! But for every Bukowski and Ujevik there are thousands who think they have the talent and the grit, but don’t. Maybe they swell the ranks of the homeless or fall through other cracks. You have to be more than a little crazy to take that chance. Even if you finally obtain recognition, there is no guarantee of happiness, only of eventually burning oneself out. Maybe the intensity is worth it, maybe.

    Like

    1. Hello Malcolm!

      How lovely to hear from you again! Hope it is not too late to wish you all the best in 2016 and beyond!

      In, by now time honoured tradition; your comment provokes thinking and for that I thank you.

      The talent, the grit, and the common ‘grand delusion’ that we might just have it … the coveted recognition, whatever it may represent, and no doubt for many it is represented in tangible rewards …

      My dear Malcom, while I can understand the notion of it … none if actually ever enters my ‘orbit’ while writing. Because there is no ‘space’ for anything/anyone to enter – every inch of space and every breath of air is completely consumed by me searching for a word … the right word. To make a sentence and then another. Erase it dissatisfied. Start over.

      Am I searching for happiness? Recognition? Talent? I can’t rightly tell, but it does not seem likely.

      Intensity (as you call it) is however another matter altogether. Over the years I have come to believe that one is only truly alive when serving one’s authentic purpose whatever that might be; baking cookies, building houses, writing books … And yes, it is indeed a grit that is needed to pursue it!

      More than a little crazy – you bet!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Liked by 1 person

Has it sparked something in you?

