Winter Vignette

Autumn descended into winter since I last wrote.

There is a still certain light in the evenings of May and June,

Like a dusty hurricane lamp hanging haphazardly over an empty porch,

Thrown by the winds this way and that,

Until the last of scattered leaves departs,

And air stiffens with cold and silence,

Winter.

You might dream of home;

Hot soup bubbling on the stove,

Smell of thyme and onion and melting candlewax,

Old dog lying in front of the fire-place,

Pine logs sizzling.

You might hear your mother calling you to supper,

Cutting wedges from round bread she baked at the crack of dawn,

Scratching frost from the kitchen window with her fingers, and

Blowing gently into the mouth of an ancient stove stacked neatly,

With newspapers and dray wood shavings.

Until you can no longer bear any of it;

Then, like me, you walk downtown;

Into alleyways where certain establishments let you stay, and

Mix with stage-folk,

Until they make you laugh, and

You forget all of it;

Cold of winter,

Your mother and

The last bastard that broke your heart.

WP_20150530_008

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

8 thoughts on “Winter Vignette”

  1. Hi Daniela😀 It’s hard for me to remember that you are in winter when it’s approaching 40C here in Spain. I love the photograph as it’s enough to keep an man warm in the depths of winter. I also love your words my friend.😀❤

    Like

    1. Hi there my friend!

      You must be truly sizzling at 40C – I can use some of that right now as it is cold morning here -:)!

      Thank you very much for keeping in touch with the Lantern!

      Have a lovely day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so right Daniela. It’s 11pm. The apartment is 30C but I finally have a cool breeze wafting through the rooms. Whew ! I’d rather have the heat than the cold. Have some !!
        I am still following my friend😀❤

        Like

      2. Thank you my friend!
        I prefer heat to cold any day, thank you for sending some my way … I am sure it will arrive sometimes in the spring -:)
        You take care,
        Daniela

        Liked by 1 person

Has it sparked something in you?

