You Would Know Me

Book
Always,
As sure as you can hear whispers of that 
River,
Clutha,
You call it,
And I did not know about it until you told me, 
How it runs; brisk and fast under the 
Canopy of endless skies, 
Making them shimmer with gold and yellow, 
Above vast ranges in the evenings,
You knew since boyhood, 
Home.

Clutha River

There cannot be two homes I told you, 
My footprints are not in that snow through which
Sheep wobbles, 
Heavy, and earthy and soggy,
Or in that tussock that spreads for miles,
Over hills and
Valleys. 
Sheep

To share your home with me, 
You put the
Book of Poems in my hand;
So that You Would Always Know Me. 

Book

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

17 thoughts on “You Would Know Me”

      1. I should mention, too, that I am enjoying reading some New Zealand poets at the moment. I didn’t like NZ poetry when I was young but I think I am growing in to it; understanding it more.

        Like

      2. It took me a long time to grasp those illusive fine threads of English language sufficiently to appreciate beauty of poetry. Unlike with any other form of expression, poetry really forces its reader to hear it with the inner ear. With NZ poetry it is also a matter of relating to the uniqueness of the place, for me in any case.

        Many thanks for your comment,
        Daniela

        Like

Has it sparked something in you?

