Gravatars

gravatars
_5SC7831_BW
‘librarian-ish’ look

Few days ago a very good friend of mine commented how the black and white photograph I used for my original Gravatar looks rather dull.

A little bit too ‘librarian-ish’ and not enough like the ‘real Daniela.’ I instantly thought; ‘Hmm, I would like to meet this ‘real Daniela’ so to finally discover who she is and where was she hiding all these years!’

Jokes aside, I honestly believe we are all made of numerous parts; some obvious to many, some only to few and some that remain a little bit of a mystery to even our own selves … or it might even be the case of mustering the necessary courage to become aware of and embrace those parts.

Since I do take note of my friends’ views, and in any case am rather prone to ‘thinking things over’ at even the slightest nudge, it was only a matter of time before I started experimenting with my Gravatar. For better or worse the outcome is rather obvious!

Daniela
‘new and improved’ look

Let me know what you think; was the old, ‘librarian-ish’ Gravatar better than the current one or not? Would the Lantern Post be the same or even better blog without the face of its keeper? How important, if at all, is to see the person behind the blog?

gravatars

When I first started blogging, I struggled with those and similar questions.

My early attempts at creating a blog neither featured my picture, nor did I create my profile. In those days I was convinced that the blog ought to speak for itself and therefore the author’s profile is irrelevant. After all many people blog anonymously.  However, it was not long until I changed those views.

The change occurred while reading other blogs and noticing how much I like seeing the person behind the blog. Writing and sending your words into the vast and unknown cyber space requires some courage; making yourself visible alongside your words even more so. It is to stand behind your words and all they convey, to claim them in your own name and image. While, like most of us I probably lack many desirable qualities; whoever was in charge, was rather generous when it came to dishing out the courage:)! So I decided to claim my words in my name and image, come what may!

Other side of it all of course is how others perceive us. Because regardless of the type of message or idea we intend on communicating, those who come across it will inevitably form their own views and sometimes maybe arrive at the meaning we never intended.

The same I guess applies to our image; how we see ourselves versus how other people see us. Even after many years, I still clearly remember that day I was on the receiving end of commentary about my looks, including my height. The first thing I did was to find the closest mirror in which to examine myself trying to see what they saw … and not seeing it. But that might be a story for another day!

‘To be beautiful means to be yourself. You don’t need to be accepted by others. You need to accept yourself.’ (Thich Nhat Hanh)

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

33 thoughts on “Gravatars”

  1. I thought about being anonymous when I was starting the blog then it occurred to me that was already quite late, since I already had quite a footprint on the internet. Occasionally, I can have a pic of me on the blog.
    Great post and yes I love the new gravatar! very full of colour

    Like

  2. I once posted about changing my gravatar, but I was persuaded to leave it alone. I agree …. I enjoy “seeing” the poster. On my blog, I put a picture of myself on “About Me”, but readers have to look for it. Hmmm…. I might have to reconsider this. …

    Like

    1. Now I do remember that post and yes almost everyone thought your gravatar has become part of your image and should stay. I think there is a true in that … image is often formed around what is most recognizable. I might reconsider my gravatar again -:)!

      Many thanks for reading and commenting.

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

  3. Hi there Daniela,
    It’s not critically important to me to see the person behind the blog but I acknowledge that many others would say the opposite.

    You did not include a larger version of your new gravatar in this post but I searched and located it on your gravatar profile page here http://en.gravatar.com/profiles/lanternpost2012

    I love hats and that’s a lovely image. I choose it over and above the black and white image you used previously because it’s so colorful and it’s such an attractive picture.

    All my best to you always.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading and writing thoughtful comment, much appreciated. And yes, you are right, I did not think to include a larger version of my new gravater … I am still a bit unsure about it -:)! But am grateful you for the link you sent me -:)!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

      Like

  4. Oh Daniela, your blog is not the same without the “real you” photo. I noticed the change right away and was so disappointed and now I am still missing seeing your beautiful face. You were right about enjoying seeing the writers. It’s why most authors are pictured on the backs of their books. And yes, we can know you by your words alone, but better to also have an image to relate to. ~Dor

    Like

    1. My dear Dor,

      I am flattered and honored by your words. Thank you. My new gravatar still shows my face, only in a different way … at this stage I am still considering other options, so will see -:)! In any case you are completely correct as to why most authors have their pictures on the backs of their books. Readers do want to see and know the author.

      Many thanks for reading and commenting -:)!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

      Like

  5. Daniela, I always admired your black and white Gravatar! It’s true, I don’t know you in person or how well the B&W photo captures your vibrant personality, but I always thought it looked rather classic and complemented the excellent quality if your literary work nicely🙂

    That said, I do also like your current picture– the one “with a bit more color” maybe, as your friend phrased it? You are a lovely lady in both word and image, and I think you could honestly go with either photo.

    Do agree with the above posters that mentioned seeing a person’s face, though. There’s something more personable/lasting about that.

    Like

    1. Dear Julie,

      I am always very happy when I found your ‘footprints’ under the Lantern! We do not know each other in person, but from the outset I felt we understood each other well -:)! Your kindness and encouragement towards my fledgling writings always warms my heart to no end!

      Thank you so much for commenting on the gravatar post … like you, I also thought my black and white photograph looked classic, even if a bit static. In any case, it is all a bit of an experiment at the moment, so will see what comes out of it!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

      Like

  6. Hi my dear new colourful friend. Your new avatar is quite stunning and so much more attractive. B&W doesn’t suit you Daniela. I am sure I will get used to your new image in time. So the cups of tea are off the menu ……… cocktails now ? 😉 Ralph xox😀

    Like

Has it sparked something in you?

