First Year!

Today is exactly twelve months since I published my first ever blog postfirst

After some initial searches for the suitable platform and  identity, the Lantern Post was created on Zagreb’s virtual street, and ignited 137 times since, with posts written from my little ‘Writer’s Den’; nestled inside a leafy suburb of Wellington. A bridge between two distant worlds; half of my life left in each.

As every émigré knows; those halves do not feet into each other naturally, one must build a bridge between them. Otherwise they separate even further and split one apart. Never to be whole again.

If I could paint or draw, I would have painted them a bridge with delicate, exquisite ornaments, arched over the vast waters. But alas, I do not know how to paint or draw such a bridge. All I could do is to write them one. To bring them a bit closer. To bring me a bit closer. And to pierce the silence.

That was then.

Twelve months on, I am walking over the bridge utterly astonished and above all truly grateful. For each and every one of you who stopped to read, comment, like, nominate, and write emails. Ask questions, offer support, make suggestions … and much more. I thank you all. While the stats page tells me that more than 1000 people have decided to follow the Lantern and over 25,000 visitors passed under its soft glow … numbers are not what is counted on the Lantern. Footprints are.

Coming from every corner of this world, you helped me build a bridge. And pierce the silence, even when as thick as mist over the grave-yard.

I learned much about myself, writing and what does it mean to me.

I learned much about our common human conditions … we all have stories. We all need someone to hear them. To recognize our footprints.

And while much of it I still do not understand … in the words of Paulo Coelho; Love does not need to be understood. It needs only to be shown.’

                                                                        Thank You!

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

66 thoughts on “First Year!”

  1. Congratulations on your first year. I’m so glad we’ve met … and I’m looking forward to many more opportunities to read whatever you choose to share each time you light your lantern. 🙂 Kudos, Daniela!!

    Like

    1. I am very, very glad indeed we have met! You are one of Lantern’s and mine oldest friends -:)!

      Thank you so much for all the support and encouragement -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

  2. Thank you very much for thanking us. It has always been a joy coming to the LP. And you don’t need crayons to paint. You do so very well with words.
    Congratulations on the many deserved nominations. You have been a great friend.

    Like

    1. You have been and remain Lantern’s special friend, to whom I thank for many helpful hints … caring questions and words of support and encouragement ! I am grateful we got to know each other my friend -:)!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

      1. How wonderful to know. You remain a great friend of random thoughts🙂
        Thank you for always finding time to read and comment on my musings!

        Like

  3. I really must congratulate you my friend in not only entertaining me with your well written and skill of words in your posts over the last year, but your mastery of the English language which I know is your second language. Well done Daniela and may your second year give me as much pleasure as your first. Love Ralph xox😀

    Like

    1. My dear Ralph,

      Thank you so much for this wonderfully thoughtful and warm comment! I am delighted we got to know each … on many not so bright days you manage to make me laugh, just as true friend does!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

    1. Dear Waldo,
      Thank you so much for all your support and encouragement. Every time I found your ‘footprints’ under the Lantern, day becomes little bit brighter!
      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

    1. My dear friend … I cannot thank you enough for what you said in your comment. Mi razumijemo jedna drugu -:)

      I am so glad we get to know each other -:)!

      You take good care!

      Puno hvala,
      Daniela

      Like

  4. Wow. Just wow. Congratulations, and I’m glad you keep writing. This post was very touching. “Numbers are not what is counted on the Lantern. Footprints are.” That’s exactly what I think about writing and blogging. Comments mean much more to me, because they show me I’ve connected with someone through my writing.

    Thanks a lot for the inspiration, Daniela! I’m looking forward to building such a beautiful bridge myself.

    Like

    1. Dear Daniel,

      Thank you very much for this thoughtful comment. Blogging is all abut interactions, connections and search for one’s own voice … whichever form that might take. Words matter. They can build, destroy, heal … as humans we shape our world by them. Even when we look into a beautiful painting, or listen to most extraordinary music … we express our feelings in words, or symbols that replace them if for some reason we cannot use words. We long to tell somebody – this is such a magnificent music and it makes me feel … we long to share. Because only by sharing we full-fill our own need to belong, to love and be loved. And that really is the essence of all ‘things’ human -:)!

      I wish you all the best and many, many happy blogs!

      Daniela

      Like

      1. Hey Daniela, I’ve posted your comment in a blog post titled “The Value of Blog Comments and Serendipity to Creativity” and I’ve linked back here. Thank you for the inspiration.🙂

        Like

    1. Thank you very much dear Denise -:)!

      Our stories reflect our individuality, this is why they are important to us. They tell that we have been there, (wherever that might be) and left our mark … our own footprint!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

  5. We learn so much reading the blogs of others. I always get a “oh I never thought of that before” when I read your blog.
    When we write something we never know just what will be taken away or how it will be interpreted. Sometimes I get comments about the tiniest aspect of what I might have said or meant.

    So here is what I never gave much thought to but that you pointed out:

    “I learned much about myself, writing and what does it mean to me.”

    I reflected on that and agree with the statement. And you know what? I rather like what I am learning about myself. lol 🙂

    Wishing you many more years of successful blogging …. one day at a time.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for this wonderful comment!

      It reflects my own thoughts on many levels, and especially how our writings develop life of their own! I am forever amazed by that.

      And you just pointed out something to me when you wrote: ‘I rather like what I am learning about myself’ … for many reasons I must remember this and remember it well!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

  6. 🎶 Happy blogday to you, happy blogday to you, happy blogday, dear blogger (i.e., Daniela), happy blogday to you!

    And many more… 🎶

    Smiles & thanks! 🎂

    Like

  7. Happy Blogaversary!!
    This platform of caring, sharing and connecting is like none other I have encountered. Truly a fun place to be.
    So glad to include you in the circle..Congrats, now go pour yourself a celebratory toast!
    Lynne

    Like

  8. Congratulations on a whole year!!🙂 I’m only 7 months old at the moment!😉 The one really great and unexpected thing for me having a blog, is that I never have time to watch TV any more, and find it quite boring now! And sitting in silence in my living room feels quite natural these days. Reading the posts on blogs seems to satisfy that entertainment part of my brain! It’s definitely good to share those thoughts or other creative things of the mind, it certainly prevents the trap of being in your own world!

    Have you found any unexpected discoveries for you?
    Suzy😀

    Like

    1. Hi Suzy,

      How lovely to find your comment, thank you -:)! Congratulations on seven months in blogosphere -:)!

      I am glad to hear you have found it both enjoyable and entertaining. My whole blogging experience could be quite easily called ‘unexpected’ -:)! I am still somewhat astonished by it all; richness of human experiences and level of interactions across the world. Wonderful really!

      Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again on this endless cyber highway -:)!

      Daniela

      Like

  9. congratulations on your first year of blogging… many more inspiring posts ahead!! isn’t the internet an amazing place where we can meet across bridges, across the world, across thousand of miles. To me it seems like you live round the corner. Our virtual neighbour🙂

    Like

    1. Dear Virtual Neighbour -:)!

      Your comment and observation brought a smile to my face on this cold and gloomy winter evening here in the middle of Pacific … knowing you and visiting your blog, reading about my country … well what can I say – it warms one’s heart to no end!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

    1. Dear Marilyn,

      Yes, it has been a year, time runs doesn’t it!

      Thank you very much for visiting the Lantern, and all your support -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

