Elegy

 

Let me tell you;

You still carry it well; ass and breasts and eyes shooting sparks, all hanging together,

Lips moist and parted; laughs for miles.

In spite.

Gliding through the heavy autumn air,

Ripe and fragrant,

Song in every step,

Streets opening under you; wet and shiny.

Cigani

But I have to ask this of you;

Do not let them take you down!

With their pale limbs, and

Wives tucked safely into matrimonial beds,

Life savings put aside,

For a rainy day.

 

Keep on dancing,

Hips swaying,

Jewelled feet moving,

Under the rain, and sun, and snow,

Even if it does not snow in these parts,

Invent snow.

Break the glass in some undisclosed bar then cut the small incision in your left breast just to see blood engraving red inside milky white.

Let them watch.

Chest wide open to firing squad.

Because you alone know when to unanchor it.

 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

21 thoughts on “Elegy”

    1. Thank you very, very much my dear friend -:)!

      The clip is from an old movie ‘Skupljaci perja’ (‘The Feather Gatherers’ or ‘I Even Met Happy Gypsies’), made in 1967. The movie is centered around Roma people and actors you see in the clip are Bekim Fehmiu and Olivera Vuco. Film also featured a cast of Roma actors speaking the Romani language, and dealt with themes such as love, ethnic and social relationships. It is considered one of the best movies of the so-called ‘Black Wave’ in what was once Yugoslavian cinema.

      Many thanks,
      Daniela
      P.S. Besides I was two years old in 1967 -:)!

      Like

  1. Hi Daniela. I did press the LIKE button and I really want to comment, but I can’t, as I don’t understand it. It’s either the Spanish sun boiling my brains or a cultural difference. Never mind. It’s given me a chance to say hello and do have a lovely Sunday. Ralph xox😀

    Like

    1. My dear Ralph,

      Passing by the Lantern to say hello is all that matters -:)! I just returned from your corner under the Spanish sun where you and your lovely Star made me laugh … and that is priceless!

      Have a lovely day too,
      Daniela
      XO

      Like

  2. The poem is beautiful. Such passion. I thought I would lose my stomach during the short clip. I’ve decided that I’m definitely NOT passionate if it comes to cutting and blood. That arouses a totally different emotion in my heart 🙂

    Like

Has it sparked something in you?

