On Being Yourself

apples and bananas

My best friend recently visited. One of those friends I hope everyone would have … to lean on when life gets colder.

We danced to forgotten music from our youth until our feet ached, and cried for all that has come to pass, as only exiled do. At dawn we walked across the sleeping city pretending we are in a different city and still young.  To watch the sunrise over the bay I once wrote a poem at.

Before she left, she smiled that slow smile of knowing and said: ‘You are still the same … but you must remember to be yourself.’  And left me with ‘On Being Yourself’ … neither of us knows who the author is, but we love it for its simplicity and truthfulness.

 On Being Yourself

You must learn that you cannot be loved by all people.

You can be the finest apple in the world; ripe, juicy sweet, succulent,

And offer yourself to all,

But you must remember that there will be people who do not like apples.

 

You must understand that if you are the world’s finest apple,

And someone you love does not like apples

You have the choice of becoming a banana.

 

But you must be warned that if you choose to become a banana

You will be a second-rate banana.

BUT you can always be the finest apple.

 

You must always realise that if you choose to be a second-rate banana

There will be people who do not like bananas.

 

Furthermore,

You can spend your life trying to become the best banana …

Which is impossible, if you are an apple.

 

OR you can seek again to be

The finest apple.

 

apples and bananas

 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

44 thoughts on “On Being Yourself”

  1. Dear Daniela, what a wonderful, magical post! You are the finest apple for sure🙂 Usually I don’t really like apples, but being a lover of beauty makes seeing this apple as a real beauty very easy. Keep up your perfectly in tune writing, you always manage to write on things that go through my heart at the same time – you must be in-tune with the stars also. check out Kelly Surtees on wordpress, she writes that this mid week is all about walking your talk, being you🙂 I hear what you are saying about exiles, having jumped countries myself I feel I know what you are saying. Thanks to nature I had the most magical experience on marrying the old with the new and feeling quite complete in the end over the last month. Love your work!

    Like

    1. Oh my dear … you are always so VERY kind to me … and I thank you for it with all my heart! I am going to visit Kelly Surtees fairly soon … I try my best to ‘walk my talk’ in life … and occasionally succeed.

      Exile and many faces of it is a topic very dear to me and one I am hoping to write on rather soon.

      Many, many thanks,

      All the Best,
      Daniela

      Like

  2. Just thoughts: Some of us haven’t figured out who or what we are yet. Sometimes I’m a sour old grape or a dried up prune. At other times a sweet, soft mushy avocado. lol
    It is a great poem to remember.

    Exile…..some can be exiled in familiar surroundings. They go nowhere but still feel estranged from friends or family.

    Like

    1. I love your comment so much ladysighs … it is indeed so that it often takes a long journey to find out whether we are dried up prune or mushy avocado, and what is more we often our choices change throughout the life … however we ought to stay true to what ever choice we make at the time … or risk to spending our lives fitting into somebody else’s.

      Exile is a topic that intrigued me for a long time, in both ways; as exile from that what is familiar, as well as state of mind or being. One of these days I will write about it.

      Many, many thanks for reading and commenting.

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

    1. Hi Clare,

      So glad to hear from you -:)! Yes, there are advantages in being older … we are less inclined to keep trying to be bananas -:)!

      Many thanks for reading and commenting,
      Daniela

      Like

  3. The best messages are the most simple and clearest ones. Thanks again for a simple and clear message. Signed:
    The apple who thought he was a banana and then morphed into a cactus (which did not work out too well for him) and slowely became the apple that he was meant to be.

    Like

    1. Oh Waldo, I am so glad to hear of this transformation from a banana, to a cactus (would never worked for me either -:)) and now becoming the apple meant to be … much the same here! We must keep the apples up -:)!

      Many thanks for reading and commenting,

      Daniela

      Like

  4. Thank you for reminding me to have the courage to be myself, which is most difficult when being myself is met with negativity . When I used to be a human ‘Zelig’ and was judged, I could always tell myself that I wasn’t being my real self, so the sting hurt less.
    ‘Better to be hated for who I am than to be liked for who I’m not!’

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and for your wonderful comment. I agree wholeheartedly with the statement that it is better to be hated for who we are, then to be liked for who we are not … because if we are indeed liked for who we are not, than it is not us who are liked, but the other peoples projections of us.

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

  5. How I love your writing Daniela! And what a wonderful visit you must have had with your good friend from another place and time. The words of the song are truly inspirational, especially for those of us who still wish to be all things to all people. Learning who we really are is the trick and I am still learning. Thanks so much for sharing this.🙂

    Like

    1. It is always such pleasure to find your warm, thoughtful and encouraging comments!

      We are all still learning how to save at least a little bit for ourselves, rather than always trying to be all things to all people … especially if you are woman as we are -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

  6. I love it. It’s been so long since I was a first rate apple, I’m not sure if I ever was one. In fact, I’m not sure which kind of a fruit I am, so I end up being a second or third rate piece of some kind of fruit in a can of mixed fruit! Nonetheless I like being in the can with other pieces of fruit, and tasting sweet, cut into many pieces, but still enjoyable to some. AND I have the joy of being smothered in whipping cream. Believe me that’s worth it!

    Like

    1. I love your comment … it made me laugh, and oh I so needed a laugh today of all days! The idea of being a pieces of fruit in the can of mixed fruit and smothered in whipping cream tells so much about our wonderfully diverse human family!

      Thank you so much -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

      1. I’m an eclectic type that has reached 61 years without realy deciding what I want to do in life. I have many semi-talents. Thirty years ago a friend labeled me semi-smart, and I have to agree with him. I am semi – or in your terms, fruit salad.

        Like

  7. Daniella, I count myself lucky to have such a friend as you described.

    What a wonderful post! I’m so glad you shared it.

    I have tried, unsuccessfully, to be the banana and probably a watermelon and orange, too…but I’ve finally realized I’m ok being an apple!

    Like

    1. Hi Denise,

      So nice to hear from you -:)! Trusted friends are treasures indeed … especially for those of us who (like me) move around quite a bit!

      Realizing you are OK being an apple is great, as it would be if you feel in peace with yourself by being an orange … or a watermelon-:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

