Middle-Earth, Magic and Transition

Well

It is a still night of an early summer. The silent hour just before dawn. Sleep has eluded me once again and my mind is already racing towards yet another busy day.

It is a time of change for me, time of transition. One of many I have been through. I sometimes wonder whether being still; in the same place, inside the same frame, is an ability not afforded to me. Ever since I can remember, and even before that as I was told, we were in transition. In this context ‘we’ stands for my family; rather eclectic collection of characters, but nevertheless connected through ties of blood and shared memories. Memories that sounded like traveller’s tales; oh remember that, it was before we moved … no, I think it was when we were living … or before she left. By all counts I went the furthest. The last transitioned.

I once knew a poem written in my native language about a man standing on the river-bank and looking into river. He could not decide whether to stay on the bank or whether to cross the river. The poet told him to either cross the river or leave the bank. Because no man can be both; a river and a river-bank. It seems to me I have skidded across the muddy river-bank and landed straight into the river before I could even walk properly. It has been about swimming ever since.

When this time of yet another transition is over, I will have time and hopefully presence of mind to reflect on it. And to reflect is to write about it.

Meanwhile, the coolest little capital in the world has been recently spellbound by all things magical. Sir Peter Jackson’s latest master-piece: ‘The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey’ premiered in Wellington to the delights of thousands. Reportedly over 10,000 fans, many dressed in costumes, lined the streets for the event and watched 500 meter journey down the red carpet.Wellington 1

It truly was a spectacular event; weather was perfect, one of those blue-sky-sun-shinning Wellington’s days, and whole atmosphere was charged with true happiness and pride for ‘one of our boys that made it big’. In the city of 370,000 people and country of 4.5 million people, having a world premier and Hollywood stars walking down the street, truly is magical!Wellington

Whether or not one likes the actual movie is secondary to the overwhelming feeling of national pride and camaraderie. That was obvious standing with my fellow Wellingtonians and those in the city just for the event while, despite the large crowd, no trouble occurred. Everyone wanted to ensure that a world sees us at our best while we present dwarfs walking on the roof of the post office building, Hobbit artisan market, Hobbits flying on our planes, and many other interesting and sometimes odd things that one can only see and hold in the middle Earth and its Capital!Well

Although I did not have a chance to see the movie yet, those who have described it as amazing, with unbelievable clarity thanks to the special effects engineered by Sir Peter Jackson in the prequel to his Oscar-winning trilogy The Lord of the Rings.

The two-hour, 50 minute movie, the firs to be shot in 3D at 48 frames per second or twice the normal rate of filming, will be released on 12th and 13th of December in Europe and the next day in the USA.Air NZPeterKate

It occurred to me that the middle-Earth is just the place for all of us who found ourselves somewhere between whatever Earth might be either above or below!

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

19 thoughts on “Middle-Earth, Magic and Transition”

    1. Dear Alice,

      Thank you very much for reading and commenting. Hobbits are fantastic and walking around Wellington (aka: middle of the Middle Earth) is like walking on the movie set. Hope you will like the movie!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

    1. Thank you very much my friend!

      I am here … even though navigating through stormy waters this time around take a bit of time and energy … and even though I am an ‘old hand’ it is not easy.

      You know your visits mean a lot to me, so thank you -:)!

      Daniela

      Like

  1. Daniela, so nice to hear your written voice again. You have been quiet and it sounds like “very much in transition”. I hope that all is well with you and that are able to swim/flow smoothly with it all.

    Chris

    Like

    1. Dear Chris,

      Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words … yes I do have few ‘issues’ to sort out, but all should be well … I am old hand at this ‘life stuff’!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

      Like

  2. I too often find myself somewhere mid-stream but damned if I don’t keep swimming upstream..It too is a time for reflection & writing and I look forward to those moments alone, just my thoughts and I..
    The Hobbit is NZ’s gift to the world🙂

    Like

    1. My dear … thank you so much for visiting the Lantern -:)! I have been rather busy and well … transitioning which is sometimes just another name for pain.

      I am so glad you like our little Hobbit theme going on in here!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

  3. Finally, after two lengthy power cuts from storms I got to read it🙂 Your vernacular about swimming is wonderful and brings such a great feel of movement. I am looking forward to The Hobbit, absolutely adore Tolkien, often wondered, what it would be like to be able to write like he does. In the meantime, I enjoy getting lost in his world from time to time…When I visited NZ two years ago I have seen some of those magical sites, was looking for some of the heros, but they must have returned to Hollywood🙂

    Like

    1. My dear,

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting, it is always nice to hear from you! Tolkien is indeed a grand master as his words transform us into his world … just like magic!

      Kind Regards
      Daniela

      Like

  4. Ms Daniela….Thank you so much for returning to us mere mortals!! I have really missed your presence around here. If I may say so, The ring trilogy was an extremely well done piece of cinema. It is one of my all-time favorites. If this prequel, “The Hobbit…” is done nearly as well, it will be a marvelous distraction.!!!
    My best wishes as you continue to navigate your personal path.
    Be well,
    Howard

    Like

Has it sparked something in you?

