On Solitude

imagesCAA82N6J

Wind is howling over the harbour this morning. Occasional passers hug their coats tighter and quicken their steps. On their way to somewhere. On their way to someone.

And words of solitude came to find me. To soothe and to guide. Here they are:

‘For those who are not frightened by the solitude, everything will have a different taste.

In solitude, they will discover the love that might otherwise arrive unnoticed. In solitude, they will understand and respect the love that left them.

In solitude, they will be able to decide whether it is worth asking that lost love to come back or if they should simply let it go and set off along a new path.

In solitude, they will learn that saying ‘No’ does not always show a lack of generosity and that saying ‘Yes’ is not always a virtue.

And those who are alone at this moment, need never be frightened by the words of the devil: ‘You’re wasting your time.’

Or by the chief demon’s even more potent words: ‘No one cares about you.’

The Divine Energy is listening to us when we speak to other people, but also when we are still and silent and able to accept solitude as a blessing.

And when we achieve that harmony, we receive more than we asked for.’

(Paulo Coelho)

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

27 thoughts on “On Solitude”

    1. I like your piece on solitude. I have had much of it in my life. It softens me, awakens me and the quiet lets me think. Sometimes though, because I can spend so much time alone, the aloneness can border on loneliness. When you live alone, it can sometimes be a challenging balance.
      You are a long way from home. Did you move because of the unrest ? You are also probably starting your day now, as I am ready to put mine to sleep.

      Like

      1. Hi,
        Thank you very much for reading and commenting. I really like you comment. Yes, I do love solitude and also live alone … for the first time in the last 18 years since my only child is finishing her high school in a different city before to start University in the city I am now. And, yes I left Croatia because of the war and made home here in NZ!
        Have a lovely day,
        Daniela

        Like

  1. Ms Daniela…Thank you for posting this today…. “And those who are alone at this moment, need never be frightened by the words of the devil: ‘You’re wasting your time.’

    Or by the chief demon’s even more potent words: ‘No one cares about you.’…”

    I really needed the reminder….Thanks again..

    H.

    Like

  2. Paulo Coelho has made me stop and process each single line I read from him. They all have inspired me, as well!
    Is amazing how deep we can storage such meaningful concept and yet be surprised when we read the words again!! Thanks for bringing this up !

    Like

  3. These lines are gorgeous and i can so connect to them.
    Solitude has always been my friend. You get time to think…..time to ponder and that’s priceless.
    Thankyou for writing such a beautiful and inspiring post.

    Like

Has it sparked something in you?

