A wish list

To see my dreams I anchor them with words. Heavy with sleep they fell in line one by one. And made a wish list. With all I wish for listed:

to return to the city cut in half by a river,

to smell the rain washing an island in Adriatic,

to travel places pregnant with colours, voices, and sounds,

to run barefoot through a meadows in summer,

to have a dog with wet muzzle and soft ears,

to swim in the sea as clear as child’s eye,

to own the room with a balcony,

to listen stories around fire until down,

to walk on cobbled streets with markets,

to taste the tears salty with desire,

to hide in a man’s arms,

Until the end of time.

All I wish for.

 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

25 thoughts on “A wish list”

  1. Is the introduction part of the poem? One clause sentences, full stop, end. Another sentence Ends. And then a colon:

    The colon a lift, raising the curtain, making a contrast, leading me in…
    Then floaty wishes, full of detail- then the man’s arms.

    Then “All I wish for.” Ambiguous, it could be resignation, or something else.

    Lovely. Thank you.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much Clare -! I am glad you take time to read and comment. I did not intend for introduction to be part of the poem. The poem ‘wrote itself’ from my wish list.

      Kind Regards,
      Daniela

      Like

  2. Beautiful line about the city split by a river. The town we live in now, Wilmington NC, is a port city and walking down the river, admiring the beautiful condos and restaurants with balconies is a favorite thing for my partner and I to do.🙂

    Like

    1. Hi,

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for you kind words. I always liked cities with water; rivers or sea.

      Kind Regards, Daniela

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

