On being excluded

This morning I received the usual array of posts and blog comments in my mail box. I love that part of blogging; ability to interact. Whether in agreement or disagreement.  There is nothing better for sharpening one’s mind than well-formed criticism. An opinion well-articulated and supported by sound evidence. It makes you stop and think. If you are able to that is. If you are big enough. I think it was Voltaire who first said: ‘I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.’  I live by that principle. And stand in defence of it.

I needed it this morning. And a lot of it. When I discovered that Jeff Goins’ has prevented me from posting a comment on his blog. Ever. The mighty Jeff who leads biblical size ‘tribes’ and preaches strong-sounding messages on being yourself and stand for who you are. And who can’t tolerate little criticism in public arena. The same arena he uses as his pulpit. And a polite criticism at that. Well intended.

Well I have been punished by exclusion. Silenced. Prevented from ever placing however small pebble of doubt in any of the faithful’s ears. For fear of infecting them. With a different thought. Or God forbid virus of ‘thinking for themselves’. I guess it is an honour. After all you only silence those whose messages might hold some truth.

But the truth is I am saddened by it. Because I really believed in that young guy. I really thought he is stronger and more intelligent than that. I wanted him to be. Modern day writing hero whose messages make difference. Real difference. I guess I was naïve. Again.

Instead it seems that he is only able to preach the same message over and over again. Slightly repackaged. And ‘make hay while sun is shining’ as the saying goes. Free of any challenges.

This is the last on ‘Goins’ issue.

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

20 thoughts on “On being excluded”

  1. Please don’t be saddened by it. I don’t have any idea who this fellow is, but it’s his loss not to have the opportunity to interact with you. Your thoughtful consideration … your polite opinion ….. would be graciously received by most, I’m sure. You have no control over him, but you have control over your own feelings, and please don’t give him the “power” to get you down. And …. don’t let this make you change in any way. When you have an opinion…. say it, share it. That’s who you are. It’s all good.

    Like

    1. My dear …

      Saying THANK YOU does not even come close to say it how you made feel. So I will say it in my first language – HVALA TI! It says everything!

      Daniela

      Like

  2. The way this man/boy has behaved is just rude! This is why I don’t moderate the comments on my blog. I believe everyone has the right to criticise. If you don’t like what I am saying – that’s brilliant – I made you feel something!

    Chin up and you’ve just given me an idea for a blog post!

    Like

  3. hope he will read your message. its a common practice in blogging world, sometimes without intention/awareness we cause disturbance to others, i have a habit of un-following people who use their entire day in posting and end up posting thirty or forty blog a day. that really jumbles up the rest of the reading so i just un-follow them with regret.

    Like

  4. I’m sad you have to go thru this. It’s very human to personalize and reinterpret the meaning behind it, especially when it’s someone with a large following. The truth is you’ll probably never know the reason why, but it may have little to do with you and everything to do about him.

    Do you know how democratic he is with his comments? I haven’t checked his blog out in a while, but I don’t recall seeing a lot of challenges in his comments sections.

    I am curious about what the comment was about that he blocked?

    Like

    1. Thank you very, very much -:)! I was sad about it too … but now I am OK with it. It is all part of life and learning. And I think he is basically OK in what he does. I wanted him to be something he is not. The comment was about contradictions between what one ‘preaches’ and what one lives.

      Like

  5. Never heard of this guy. Just checked out his blog for about .002 seconds, and all I gotta say is: good writers don’t have to shamelessly whore themselves out on a blog to sell books. I mean, the top post is titled “Why I’m Bribing You to Buy My New Book”. Jesus, have some dignity. Also, apparently he’s giving out “free” stuff with the purchase of his book. Who does that besides, like, Bill O’Reilly? What do you get a Jeff Goins coffee mug with his hobbit looking face on it? This guy looks like an extra from Lord of the Rings.

    Anyway, you can skirt the ban if you want, you know. Just post through a proxy server like hidemyass.com or something like that. Tell him what an asshole he is.

    Like

    1. Hi,
      Thanks for stopping by my blog. It is all good now. I am over it. One lives and learns. Jeff is OK, I think he is actually very good at what he does, which is communications and marketing.
      Cheers!

      Like

  6. ‘I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.’ That is a fantastic quote! Thank you, definitely one I will remember.🙂

    I don’t know who the guy is that you’re talking about, but I hate it when people don’t appriciate some friendly contradicting views. It is very sad. Rest assured that you are the bigger person.🙂

    Like

  7. Regardless of age, talent, and even intelligence, what matters is not how, but what does someone write or say, And that has much to do with that person’s principles, aims, and real interests… and with integrity (which is a moral principle).

    Like

  8. This is an interesting conversation that I appreciate. I completely agree with the Voltaire quote. An interesting conversation on my Facebook account today was around this. One person wrote and I quote – “As long as there are two people on this earth there will be differing opinions and one opinion is as valid as the other. Tolerance is not agreeing with the other but acknowledging that each has a right to express that opinion. Force, control, discrimination, and manipulation in order to promote personal opinion is intolerable.” So as long as there is civility I say – Keep the conversation going – it makes it far more interesting!

    Like

    1. Hi, Thank you very much for reading and commenting. I appreciate and agree with the point you made. Exchange of views is necessary as it keeps interest engaged. Kind Regards, Daniela

      ________________________________

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

