The Lucky 7 Meme/Excerpt from ‘Pavel Kovac is going to America’

lucky-7-meme

Hello everyone!

As my all-time favourite bear wold say; ‘If I am any happier I would pop!’ I am very happy and very grateful to the wonderful writer Julie Israel of The Read Room who tagged me today with an invitation to participate in The Lucky MeMe. Here:

  1. Go the 7th or 77th page of your work in progress
  2. Go to the 7th line of the page
  3. Copy the next 7 sentences or paragraphs. Remember, they must be as they are typed.
  4. Tag 7 authors.
  5. Let them know they’re it!

First I could not believe what I was reading … me? Tagged? Wow! After I managed to scoop up my jaw from the floor, the usual anxieties started to dance around my insides … what to do? ‘Copy the next 7 sentences or paragraphs … as they are typed’ … Oh my God! I have a short story in progress just now BUT it has not been edited … no native English speaker has seen it yet! How on Earth am I to post something like that? Then I went back to Julie’s blog to read a little bit more of her writings … and the gaze from those bright blue eyes at ‘meet Julie’ made me feel I ought to do it. I somehow knew she would. So here it all goes as it is … mistakes and all …  the excerpt is from the short story I am writing at the moment titled ‘Pavel Kovac is going to America’, (it is more than seven sentences, but less than seven paragraphs -:)  

When he was only a little boy Pavel’s clear blue eyes would wonder for hours over delicate water-colours his mother painted in the abandoned room at the end of their house. He would sit quietly next to his mother’s easel and gaze into colours and shades for a long time.  Sometimes his mother would paint the tip of his nose bright red, or draw funny shapes on his face and they would both laugh. She was careful to take it all off just before his father came home from his work in a factory. His father was working in a factory where they made guns and tanks. He was a very important man there and a high-ranking party official.  

One day Pavel and his mother had a visitor, one of his mother’s friends from her Art School, and all three of them made lots of funny purple dots and red hearts on Pavel’s face. But they did not have enough time to take it off before Pavel’s father burst into the house. When the front door slammed open they all froze in their spots. His father was calling their names in that jolly manner that always meant he has brought one of his comrades with him. To discuss some important party directions over few drinks and game of cards. When the door of their room burst open so did the tears in his mother’s eyes. Pavel looked up and for the first time in his life understood human geometry; what happens to the expensive, curved lines of broad laughs when they change into slimy shapes of disgust. His father picked him up by collar and threw him at the kitchen sink to clean ‘this shit from his face’. Pavel could not see the sink from tears.  

From that day on Pavel’s mother never used colours on his face. And Pavel learned how to hide.

 Now I am tagging the following seven writers:

tryingtowriteit

AS I SEE IT

Holly at World Lit Up

Marianne at The Meaning for my Life

Marina Sofia at findingtimetowrite

emilyannneshaffer

Kathy at shareachair

 

 You are all it!

 

 

 

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

5 thoughts on “The Lucky 7 Meme/Excerpt from ‘Pavel Kovac is going to America’”

  1. Daniela, this is simply magnificent. I am so so glad you decided to participate!😀

    You have a true gift for story-telling and I am envious of the narrative style you use. I love the details, too (the red paint on the nose…so real). I hope you will publish the full story when it is finished, either online or in a literary magazine, so I can read it!

    Like

    1. Oh my dear Julie … you do say some things that make my old heart all go whooshy-whooshy (trying to play with English words here -:)) Thank you VERY MUCH! And I will also say thank to you in Croatian so you know it is coming directly from heart – HVALA! There is a little precious I know, but if there is anything I know about story telling it is what I learned from my grandfather (I wrote about him in some of my earlier stories here). I will finish the story … I have to -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

