THROUGH THE EYES OF A NEWBIE BLOGGER (third)

Are you blogging in a second language?

This is the third installment in the miniseries ‘Through the eyes of a newbie blogger’.  The first post (here) talked about feeling overwhelmed under the wealth (and weight -:) of information when you are just starting as a blogger. The second post (here) reviewed one of the most preached principles of blogging; necessity to attract large ‘tribes.’ In this post, I will talk about blogging/writing in a second language.

This topic is of course close to my heart since I write in English, a language I did not know when I first arrived to an English-speaking country. While I initially learned English out of necessity, I am now using it as the language of choice for my writings; blog posts and others.  Reading other blogs made me realize that this is not uncommon. People from all corners of the globe have chosen English as the language for their blogs and writings.

Reason for this is obvious. Over time and through ‘series of events’ language spoken in England was exported to all corners of our planet. As a result, English became what it is today; ‘worldwide language’. So if you want to connect with that world, you will have to use English. And bloggers do want to connect -:)!

This is not a new phenomenon. Long time ago Latin served the same purpose only on a smaller scale since the known world was much smaller then, and lacked rapid interconnectedness we now have through the internet. Besides far fewer people could read and write in those days. It was a privilege reserved for aristocracy, clergy and alike.

So how we (non-native English speakers) are all doing writing in English?

  1. Confident?
  2. Not so sure?
  3. Scared of making mistakes?
  4. Not writing as much or as flawlessly as you would like?

Apart from ‘confident’ I have and continue to experience everything else, especially c) and d)!  And this is after years of writing in English both at my daily work, and during my University studies, long before I started blogging. But they are few things I have learned during those years that I am now going to share with you in my next post. In the meantime just remember – it takes courage to write and especially to publicized it – it takes even more courage to do it an a second language.

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

5 thoughts on “THROUGH THE EYES OF A NEWBIE BLOGGER (third)”

  1. I thought of this when I learned of your background, and I am totally impressed with your ability. Your skills are awesomely obvious, and the fact that you are doing your writing in a second language simply elevates your skill. My grandparents arrived in the USA without any English, and to their last days, I witnessed their insecurities. But as someone who does not know a second language … and thoroughly regrets it … I have nothing but admiration and respect for those of you who do.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Every time I found your comment, it lights my day. I really appreciate your kindness and your observations. Do you mind me asking where your grandparents came from? I know exactly how they felt, there is nothing that makes us more isolated than inability to converse and thus connect with others in the environment we found ourselves.

      Like

  2. They came from a small village in the Black Forest area of Germany. Neither one of them knew a word of English. I am astounded at the commitment and bravery of those who accomplish such a relocation. (you!)

    Like

  3. I’m a Filipino, and I chose to blog in English, It’s just that it’s more universally acclaimed. I just hope my Philippine posts can make a statement that I don’t turn my back on my country just because I use English. When other Filipinos comment on my blog using our own language, I respond to them using Tagalog.

    Like

    1. Hi,
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. And rest assured your posts are great! Many of us have chosen to blog in English, for much the same reasons. Just like you; I have invited everyone to comment in either English or Croatian and I am always glad when somebody passes by and leave a comment in Croatian, and so I replay in Croatian too!
      All the Best,
      Daniela

      Like

Has it sparked something in you?

