Kise (Rains)

Napisano u srpnju 1982, kada sam imala sam samo 17 godina, kao moja kcer sada … zivjela sam u Zagrebu tih godina i ni sanjala da cu jednog dana zivjeti ovdje u Novom Zelandu … ali ipak sacuvati poeziju pisanu tih godina.

(In English: I wrote the poem below in July 1982, I was only 17 years old, like my daughter now … I was living in Zagreb in those years, and not even in my wildest dreams could I imagine that one day I will be living in New Zealand … and still keep poems I wrote in those years).

Kise 

Nocas ce padati kise,

Od suza satkan trag,

Po oknima dugo ce tuga, –

Ispirat’ nocni san.

Nocas se padati kise,

Vec vidim blatnjav put,

Ulicu mokru I sjajnu

Sto tece mimo nas …

Velika lokva na kraju ceste,

Kaze da jos smo tu,

Na kraju grada u svom

Kisnom snu.

In English:

Rains

It is going to rain tonight,

Trail woven of tears,

For a long time sadness will wash,

Night dream from our windows.

It is going to rain tonight,

I can see the muddy track,

Wet, shiny street,

Passing by us.

Big puddle at the end of our street,

Cries that still we are here,

At the edge of the city,

In our rainy dream.

Author: Daniela

Reader, Writer, Mother, Freethinker, Habitual Day Dreamer, Blogger - Sharing Ideas, Poetry, Prose, and Conversations on the Lantern Post!

3 thoughts on “Kise (Rains)”

  1. I spent some time In Istria last fall and while I have never been to Zagreb, it is near to my heart, as those were some of the most adventurous and exciting experiences of my life! Your poem caught my eye since I recognized the language – I can’t understand it, but am pleased that I knew that it was Croatian!

    Like

Has it sparked something in you?

