Lantern Post

Read. Think. Write.

Honouring long overdue Awards from the Cottage in Hobbiton!

My view

My view

It has happened! Two days ago, in the middle of a sunny morning, bags have been put down and the Lantern fastened next to the tree. Transplanted from a southern suburb to a leafy northern suburb nestled just above Wellington’s Botanic Garden. Secluded spot, surrounded by a bush, bird sanctuary and neighbours that wish you good morning and smile at you even though you have just arrived. My new abode is small and cute. Just like a hobbit’s hole; one has everything one needs and nothing one does not. Here are some photos of it.

It has been a sort of purging exercise … woman who once acquired rather impressive number of things; including furniture, clothing, accessories, etc. … decided to put in practice her long standing theory of travelling light through life. And then she gave away, donated and sometimes sold all of it. The criteria were simple, yet effective; if not used during the last six months; it is not needed and therefore it has to go. The result is impressive and satisfying. Total of my earthly possessions fits into one bedroom apartment … and I love it. Because the best things in life are not things … I always believed that one can only sleep in one bed and wear one pair of shoes at one time (I have touched upon that on here: ‘News on Saturday morning‘) … now I know for certain that to be true.

Abode

Abode

Except for books that is … and some old photos of people long dead, my grandmother’s scarfs, the last letter she wrote to me, and an old tobacco tin. It is all I carry across the world. My talismans.

While search for the Lantern’s new spot has been underway, good people of blogging world have found in their hearts to pass some fantastic awards to us! Thank you very, very much … and I am indeed very sorry for being so late in honouring the awards. Times have been tough recently, and I am not saying this as an excuse … just the fact. And now I am going to do my best to honour each and every award!

The first nomination came from my great friend Kathy of ‘sharechair’, at: http://sharechair.wordpress.com/  If you have not visited her blog, please do so soon as Kathy write with integrity, warmth and sincerity. Kathy nominated the Lantern for the ‘Blog of the Year’ award! I cannot possibly think how the Lantern and I deserve such an award … still THANK YOU SO MUCH!

The second nomination for the ‘Blog of the Year’ award came from ‘The Raven’s Witch’, at: http://enchantedsolitaire.com/ One enchanted blog and an interesting blogger, well worth your visit. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

The third nomination for the ‘Blog of the Year’ award came from ‘Who’s Your Granny’, at: http://mmeara.wordpress.com/ Marcia’s blog is simply beautiful, full of humanity, love and life. The photo on ‘About’ page tells it all just by itself -:!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

And so thanks to those wonderful bloggers, the Lantern now has three golden stars to display! Thank you!

The Lantern's Stars!

The Lantern’s Stars!

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award,

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award,

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award –http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!),

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them,

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience,

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar, and start collecting stars! Yes, there are stars to be collected and this is where this award is different to others. Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once; this award is different; every time you are given the award by another blog; you can add another star. There are total of six stars to collect. Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs, and even if they have already been given the award by someone else, you can still bestow it on them again and help them reach the maximum six stars!

If you would like to know more, please check  FAQ page.

And now for the best part -:)! My nominees for the ‘Blog of the Year’ award are:

  1. http://freepennypress.wordpress.com/ for absolutely wonderful, inspirational and interesting blog,
  2. http://chrisbkm.wordpress.com/ for poetry that touches one deeply and profoundly,
  3. http://clareflourish.wordpress.com/ for being true to herself,
  4. http://myblogaddiktion2011.wordpress.com/ for beautiful and inspirational blog,http://mixandmatchmeme.wordpress.com/ for all the wonderful things that can rhyme!

Congratulations to all!

41 comments on “Honouring long overdue Awards from the Cottage in Hobbiton!

  1. sharechair
    December 16, 2012

    I love your new place …. and your philosophy. Things are just things, I agree completely. It is a great goal of mine to “simplify” my life, and although I try, I think that I would need a move, too. That kind of forces your hand, doesn’t it. I bet it feels clean and freeing! But what about friends? Did you have to leave them far behind, or are they still within visiting distance? Good luck with your new home!!

    • Daniela
      December 16, 2012

      Hi my dear,

      Thank you very much for writing and commenting. I am glad you like my new place. Yes, it does feel very clean and free, and simple too -:)! Move forces you to sort of put your hand to the things you might have even forgotten to have, and then decide what to do with them! My friends (and that includes you of course -:)) all over the world and various parts of NZ. Also Wellington is so small that we are all within visiting distance.

      Many thanks for the best wishes,

      Daniela

  2. free penny press
    December 16, 2012

    Oh Daniela..I love your new abode..It’s exactly the kind of place where light, love and sunshine pass through freely. Like you, I too have pared down ( and will do so again in the spring when I move).. I’m very excited for your new home and foresee many wonderful joys there for you..
    Thank you so very kindly for the award. I am humbled for my writing’s are mere thoughts tossed to the page..

    Oh I just love your new place (I get all excited over things like this as you can tell)
    Enjoy that cuppa!
    Lynne

    • Daniela
      December 16, 2012

      Lynne … you made me wish so much for us to be closer so we can have a glass of vine (or a cuppa) together in my new abode! I am sure we would both enjoyed it! Thank you so, so much for your kind words of love and support! There were times in life when I wanted to be successful … now days I just want to be healthy and happy … in peace! So I do hope that your foresight’s come true!

      You deserve the award many times over, trust me!

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

  3. ahmrita natural mental health
    December 16, 2012

    Congratulations Daniela ! That’s for the awards and fitting everything into a one bedroom appartment :)

    • Daniela
      December 16, 2012

      Thank you very much my dear -:)!

      Your support means a lot to me,

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

  4. Alice
    December 16, 2012

    The Hobbit Hole is dear and homey. It “spells comfort.” Many of us will be taking a similar journey, and you have pioneered an attitude of wonder and expectation–even in in sadness–and help us look forward to our own adventures.

    • Daniela
      December 16, 2012

      Dear Alice,

      What you said resonates with me on so many levels … for that I thank you with all my heart! I do love my Hobbit Hole and am glad that it looks homey as that is exactly what I was hoping for.

      Many thanks,
      Daniela

  5. ferragudofan
    December 16, 2012

    congratulations and thank you for sharing the award!
    I am intrigues by your bog and I am off to explore more …… love the picture of your home – books were my real downfall when we moved – boxes and boxes! The poor removal company!! but now I have my Kindle ………..so maybe less boxed next time!

    • Daniela
      December 16, 2012

      Hi,

      Thank you very much -:)! I am really glad to hear that the Lantern Post intrigued you, many thanks! I know … books are real hassle to carry around, and Kindle certainly helps … still I love the smell and feel of books, especially ones I had for a long time!

      Kind Regards,
      Daniela

  6. makagutu
    December 16, 2012

    We must travel light through life. I like that statement :)
    You have a nice house and congratulations on all the awards, you are fully deserving of them.

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      Thank you very much my friend -:)!

      I am doing my best as one of life’s light travelers … and your help and support means a lot!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

  7. mixedupmeme
    December 16, 2012

    The deed is done and I think I hear
    sighs of great relief
    That we need so much junk
    is just a false belief
    Wishing you happiness in your new abode
    and hope many joys it brings
    Looking forward to all your new posts
    as lately you’ve been a bit brief

    Thanks for the award nomination. :)

  8. Our Adventure in Croatia
    December 16, 2012

    good luck in your new home Daniela. Many happy days ahead and memories to cherish :)

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      Many, many thanks!

      Enjoy Christmas in Croatia … I still remember endless offerings and snow failing on people leaving midnight mass.

      All the Best,
      Daniela

      • Our Adventure in Croatia
        December 18, 2012

        thanks, Merry Christmas to you too. We are not going to Croatia this Christmas but having a beach holiday in Barbados.
        I have seen pictures posted by someone else about Zagreb last week. Lots of snow there! no snow on the coast I think,
        All the best
        Elisa

  9. Pingback: Angels are all around – all you have to do is look | J. Keller Ford ~ Author

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      Thank you so, so much -:)!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      Thank you -:)!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

  10. Mari
    December 16, 2012

    I absolutely love your new place!! I knew you would find something soon! Congratulations on it and on your awards, too!! And thank you so much for thinking of me when doing your nominations, Daniela! I am humbled by your generosity! unfortunately, I am unable to participate right now because my computer is not working as it should right now and I’m having to use someone else’s but please know that I truly appreciate your kindness!!

    Have a wonderful evening! (:

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      Dear Mari,

      Thank you for this lovely comment … of course I think of you when comes to awards! I am sorry to hear your computer is not working … but of course I understand.

      Wishing you all the best, peace and happiness above all -:)!

      Daniela

  11. quirkybooks
    December 17, 2012

    Congratulations on your award and thanks for mentioning mine at http://www.quirkybooks.wordpress.com I appreciate it.

    • Daniela
      December 18, 2012

      You are most welcome and thank you so much for visiting and commenting,

      All the Best,
      Daniela

  12. Ralph
    December 20, 2012

    Once upon a time in a New Zea land far far away lived a Croatian named Daniela. A simple soul who lanquished in the rainswept town of Blog. She was once a lantern to us all, a post lady of renown, but she gave it all up to become a Hobbitess ……………. what am I on about. Congratulations on your new home Daniela. Where do you keep your giraffe ? ;)

    • Daniela
      December 20, 2012

      Oh Ralph … you are simply wonderful! It made me so happy to find your comment … I missed you!

      Thank you so much! And just so you know … giraffes do not roam in Hobbiton -:)!

      Take Care,
      Daniela

  13. Ralph
    December 20, 2012

    Hi Daniela. I have not been around these parts for a while as I have sooooo much on with emails and blogging with many, many other bloggers. I will try to come over more often. Promise :) Hugs Ralph x

  14. bornaija
    December 26, 2012

    Super ti je Daniela ono s odabirom stvari kojih se treba riješiti. Odlično! Ja sam tek polovično uspio u tom kad sam se prije dvije godine selio po sedmi put u životu
    Bilo mi je žao kad sam pročitao da se moraš seliti, ali sad mi se čini da si stvarno u Hobitonu i da ćeš upoznati, osim drugih hobita, još i vilenjake i patuljke i čarobnjake pa da krenemo protiv Mordora svi skupa :).
    Mislim da to zaslužuje dobru staru hobitsku pjesmu: The Road Goes Ever On. :D
    Nadam se da ste za Božić vas dvije bile zajedno kao što smo moja djeca i ja uspjeli biti. Sve dobro vam želim, najviše po pitanju zdravlja i duševnog mira.
    Stoj dobro :)
    Robert

    • Daniela
      December 28, 2012

      Hvala ti puno Robert! Tako mi je drago svaki puta kada posjetis i prodjes ispod lanterne!

      The Road indeed goes ever on … patuljci, vilenjaci i carobnjaci bili bi mi dobri prijatelji -:))

      Stjecajem sretnih okolnosti nas some dvije bile zajedno na Bozic i to mi je bilo sve sto sam trebala!

      Puno ti hvala i sve najbolje u novoj godini!

      Daniela

  15. helpwithyourlife
    January 3, 2013

    Congratulations on your award and new place! It looks and sounds cozy! Love the idea of ‘travelling light through life’ and actually started clearing out a closet the other day. Feels good already! Happy New Year!

    • Daniela
      January 4, 2013

      Thank you very much -:)! Yes, I also found it liberating getting rid of so called ‘stuff’ … it really makes one feel light (and young)!

      All the Best,
      Daniela

  16. Russel Ray Photos
    January 10, 2013

    Best wishes for health, happiness, peace, and prosperity to you and yours for 2013 and beyond.

    • Daniela
      January 10, 2013

      Thank you very much and best wishes to you … may we both blog happily in 2013 and beyond!

      Daniela

  17. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com
    January 11, 2013

    Congratulation,Wishing you happiness in your new place.Thank you Daniela for liking my post.Blessings.jalal

    • Daniela
      January 12, 2013

      Thank you Jalal,

      Best Wishes to you!

      Daniela

  18. Pingback: Walking through the city carless and childless! « Lantern Post

  19. Wolfgang
    March 3, 2013

    I really wonder precisely why you named this blog
    post, “Honouring long overdue Awards from the Cottage in Hobbiton!
    | Lantern Post” T I S . In any event . I really loved the blog!
    Thanks a lot-Stephan

  20. Pingback: First Year! | Lantern Post

Has it sparked something in you? Please leave a comment.

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2012 by in Living in our time, On Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,450 other followers

